Baptism

At Holy Name Parish, Baptisms usually take place on the 2nd and 4th Sunday of every month after the 11:00 am Mass.  There are exceptions such as late December.  In order for an infant (0 to 6 yrs) to be baptized, the parents of the child must undertake a Baptismal Preparation Course at the Church.  The Baptismal Preparation Course runs on the last Monday of all months @ 7:00 pm except December.  There may be other date changes, so parents are encouraged to always check with the Parish secretary for any date chosen, whether for Infant Baptism or for the Baptismal Preparation Course.  Only registered parishioners of the Parish or families that lie within the church geographical boundaries can be baptized at the Parish.  Otherwise, the actual Parish of the family must agree to their request for Baptism of an infant at Holy Name Parish.

The Baptismal Preparation Course content has to do with history, ritual meaning, purpose, symbols, Canon Law (Church Law), and ceremony.  Parents are only required to attend once.  If a second or third Baptism is required, parents do not need to retake the course.  Schedules for each are contained below for both events as well as a Baptismal Record (on the website) to be completed by the parents and forwarded to the Parish.  If a Baptism is requested for a child and the parents have had a Baptismal Preparation Course previously, then evidence is necessary to be given to Holy Name Parish prior to the baptism.

Baptism of adults (ages 19 yrs and upward) is undertaken by the Rite of Christian Initiation for Adults (RCIA) program and is a different ministry in the Parish.  For more information about RCIA, please contact the Parish Secretary @ (403) 249-7764.

 

 BAPTISMAL PREPARATION COURSE

DATE TIME
Monday, October 30, 2017 7:00 pm
Monday, November 27, 2017 7:00 pm
Monday, January 29, 2018 7:00 pm
Monday, February 26, 2018 7:00 pm
No Class in March due to Chrism Mass  
Monday, April 30, 2018 7:00 pm
Monday, May 28, 2018 7:00 pm

 

 

                   2017/2018 BAPTISM DATES

DATE
TIME

Sunday, October 8 & 22, 2017

11:00 am

Sunday, November 12 & 26, 2017

11:00 am

Sunday, December 10 & 17, 2017

11:00 am

Sunday, January 14 & 28, 2018

11:00 am

Sunday, February 11 & 25, 2018

11:00 am

Sunday, March 11, 2018

11:00 am

Sunday, April 8 & 22, 2018

11:00 am

 Sunday, May 13 & 27, 2018

 11:00 am

 Sunday, June 10 & 24, 2018

 11:00 am